Four Point Inspection

A four point inspection is an evaluation of the four main systems of  a home. This type of inspection is typically requested by an insurance carrier to determine the condition of the property they are insuring. Typically a four point inspection is requested on homes 30 years and older, however lately the age requirements have been decreasing substantially. Older homes may have potential defects such as unsafe electrical wiring, roof leaks from an aged roof covering, or defective plumbing materials. Insurance carriers want to know this information prior to issuing an insurance policy.

The inspection consists of a detailed review of the following systems:

  • Roof
  • Electrical
  • Plumbing
  • HVAC

Any defects noted during the inspection may require repair before obtaining insurance, making this type of inspection of particular importance.